Voluntary Exchange


It has been foggy for about the last week. It burns off as the day progresses. This evening the sky was the most beautiful deep dark blue. No words in my vocabulary to portray it’s beauty.

Today’s card is quite interesting to me, mostly because of what happened prior to drawing it. This is a new deck and fun to shuffle! No cards were coming up, so I just kept shuffling. My mind wandered to thoughts of a past relationship.

I quickly realized and told myself not to go there and shook it off.  I asked the cards to work with me for the best of the Universe and all involved. Then I realized the card could not come up until the deck was cleared. So, I energized the cards and knocked on them three times. I cleared my mind and asked spirit what I need to know.

I drew 6, The Forest Lovers from the Wild Root Tarot by Mark Ryan and John Matthews with card illustrations by Will Worthington. The image on card says it all.

Ryan and Matthews add depth, “True love comes from joining of two polar energies to create a third force or consciousness. It is an interchange of energy and passion, not the surrender or domination of either but a voluntary exchange of will power and respect.”

Seeing the ribbons tying this couple together and to the tree immediately brought me to an emotional state and back to a powerful dream in which I was being married atop a rocky outcrop underneath an ancient  tree. My lover placed a yellow ribbon on my finger. It immediately spun out in all directions astounding me. That is the first and last dream I have ever had about getting married. After that vision I had to center myself with some creative breathing techniques.

Strange how spirit works. Am I not done with that relationship?

~ Athena

One thought on “Voluntary Exchange

Leave a Reply

